Lakes & Volcanoes Scenic Route

For 20 years now, the Chilean Government has been developing the Interlagos Network or also known as Lakes & Volcanoes Scenic Route: the first scenic route of Chile of almost 2000 kms of roads that aims to unite Chile by a foothill road that connects and increases the tourism activity of the lakes and foothills of the area. The network comprises the following 6 main tourist circuits:

1.Andean Araucanía
2.Lacustrine Araucanía
3.Ranco Lake
4.Seven Lakes
6.Llanquihue Lake & Cochamó.

See Map of the Network

Sin título-compressed

This route will connect the regions of La Araucanía, Los Ríos and Los Lagos, and allowing access to areas of parks, lakes, volcanoes and hot springs in the foothills of the Andes, always respecting the environment and the native cultures of the area.


Starting in the north of the Araucanía Region, this circuit is in one of the areas with a great tourist potential in Chile. It stands out for its extensive forests of ancient araucarias, considered the oldest forests on Earth, since its origin dates back 180 million years. This natural environment, formed by imposing snow-capped mountains, lakes and rivers with pristine waters and stylized araucarias, is the spectacular backdrop for all the tours that can be made in this area. Some of its must-sees are the Conguillío and Tolhuaca National Parks, Ski Centers, Thermal Centers, the Malalcahuello – Nalcas National Reserve and the Sollipulli Volcano.


The Villarrica volcano is the great natural landmark of this circuit. Its two main cities, Villarrica and Pucón, have developed around  this last one and is considered “the capital of adventure tourism in Chile.” It has a wide variety of services and activities to offer that seems endless, such as rafting on Trancura River, walking through the Huerquehue National Park or the Villarrica National Reserve, enjoying Lake Caburgua or visiting the small town of Currarrehue to enjoy its gastronomy, crafts and local products.


As its name indicates it, this circuit is structured around seven lakes of an extraordinary beauty: Calafquén, Panguipulli, Riñihue, Pullinque, Pellaifa, Neltume and Pirehueico. The Valdivian Jungle, its rivers for rafting, kayaking or recreational fishing, and the Mocho Choshuenco volcano, are some of its highlights, always accompanied by one of the main networks of thermal centers in the Liquiñe and Coñaripe areas. With a marked Mapuche cultural identity, this destination has been developing as a new great tourist destination in southern Chile, thanks to natural attractions such as the Huilo Biological Reserve, an important center of biodiversity and endemism.


The adventure of surrounding the third largest lake in Chile is memorable: beautiful cattle fields, exuberant forests of Valdivian Jungle and viewpoints towards islands, waterfalls and snow-capped mountains. Knowing the local culture in towns such as Llifén, Maqueo or Isla Huapi, walking the leafy trails of Futangue Park, relaxing in the Llifén and Chihuío hot springs, are just some of the activities that this destination offers.


In a beautiful Andean landscape, the shapes of the Puyehue and Puntiagudo volcanoes stands out, finding on their slopes typical rain forests of the Valdivian Jungle and accompanied by the Puyehue and Rupanco lakes. Around the Puyehue National Park and the lake of the same name are concentrated the main tourist offers in the area, which include thermal complexes, ski centers, lush evergreen forests, Puyehue volcanoes -Cordón del Caulle- and incredible trekking trails, qualified among the wildest in Chile.


Finally, the Llanquihue Lake – Cochamó circuit allows to go around the second largest lake in Chile, which also has the largest bike path in the country. From there it is possible to access the green Patagonia from the Vicente Pérez Rosales National Park, and Lake Todos los Santos, through a beautiful road until reaching the Puelo river valley, up to the border with Argentina. A route that crosses some of the most beautiful landscapes in the south, under the shadow of the imposing Osorno, Calbuco, Puntiagudo and Tronador volcanoes.